Mott - Latest News
Mott Mott Mott Mott Mott Mott Mott Mott 
Latest News

Ray Majors has released his second solo album, The 7% Solution on Angel Air Records (SJPCD-425) on 13 January 2014. The disc includes 15 original songs, with Sandy Dillon guesting on vocals on the final track. The album celebrates Ray's recovery from stage 3 throat cancer.

A new Mott compilation was released by Angel Air on 9 Feb 2009, entitled By Tonight - Live 1975/76. It is a single CD containing live tracks recorded at Friars Aylesbury and Leeds Polytechnic in the UK, and The Forum, LA and Agora Ballroom, Cleveland in the USA. These tracks were originally released on the Live: Over Here and Over There two-disc set.

The debut Mott album Drive On is scheduled to be reissued in the USA on the Wounded Bird label. Wounded Bird specializes in exact reissues of albums from the 60s, 70s and 80s and recently reissued the first three Mott The Hoople CDs. Conflicting reports put the release date as either July 2006 or September 2006.

Angel Air released a new 2xCD release called Family Anthology on 4 July 2005, which despite the familiar-sounding title contains many never-released songs. The release includes the unreleased Mott The Hoople demos Can You Sing The Song That I Sing and Chosen Road, new tracks by Verden Allen, Overend Watts, and Dale Griffin, a demo by Jon Best backed by The Silence, a track by The Buddies featuring Mick Ralphs, and others.

Two new Mott compilation CDs have surfaced recently. Giants of Rock was issued in 2004 on the UK Signature label, and All The Young Dudes appeared in 2005 on the Holland Hallmark label. Both albums collect previously-issued studio and live material from other CBS and Angel Air releases.

In April 2003 Nigel Benjamin made a guest appearance on the Discovery Channel TV show Monster Garage, which features motorcycle-builder-to-the-stars Jesse James. In each episode of the program, a design team is awarded prizes if they can build a customized vehicle under tight time and budget restrictions. Nigel is a member of a team trying to build a mobile skateboard park out of a Winnebago, and provides a few fireworks when he quits the team part way through the show.

A Swedish release entitled World Cruise (Sweden Eastworld 1156) was released on 4 Sept 2001. It is actually a reissue of Mott The Hoople Featuring Steve Hyams, a CD released by See For Miles several years ago. It contains demos by Steve Hyams with members of Mott backing him.

Overend Watts has agreed to record a solo album for the Angel Air label. The provisional title of the album is Loose Cannon, and it should be done sometime in 2001. A preview track, Carribean Hate Song, appears on the Mott The Hoople Friends and Relatives album (UK Eagle).

Ray Major's first solo album, First Poison (UK Angel Air SJPCD 057) was released on 6 November 2000. The album features appearances by Sandy Dillon, Mick Avery, Don Craine, and Joe Elliott, who sings lead vocal on the opening track Leave Me Be.

A Mott album called The Gooseberry Sessions (UK Angel Air SJPCD054) was released on 23 June 2000. The album contains material recorded by Mott just after Ian Hunter left the band, and also includes a handful of 1976 Papers Bags recordings masterminded by Morgan Fisher.

Morgan Fisher released Miniatures 2 on 24 March 2000. The album consists of sixty one-minute tracks by artists active in rock, jazz, computer music, ethnic music, free music and philosophy. Artists include Morgan Fisher, John Fiddler, Terry Riley, Michael Nyman, John Paul Jones, Robert Fripp, Chris Hughes, Howard Jones, Hugh Cornwell, Jean Houston, and Moondog.

On 28 June 1999, Angel released a live Mott two-CD set entitled Live - Over Here and Over There (UK Angel Air SJPCD025). This 2 discs features live material recorded at four venues in the UK and USA in 1975 and 1976.

Mott guitarist Ray Major appeared at the First Annual Mott The Hoople Convention at the Robin 2 in Bilston (UK) on 17 April 1999. Ray appeared with Steve Hyams, playing material from his Feather and a Tomahawk album.

Morgan Fisher's Relaxation Garden Concert Vol. III, entitled Flowers, was held in Japan on May 29, 1998. The concert helped promote Flower Music (Japan Prem Promotions PRE-1952), the album Morgan released in April 1998. Prem Promotions has also been busy reissuing much of Morgan Fisher's back catalog.